Welcome to my first Worship Wednesdays post! In this post I’m going to talk about the song Brokenness Aside by All Sons And Daughters. I learned this song quite early when I was learning piano, and I recommend you stop right now and go listen to the song if you haven’t already. The post will wait for you.

“Will your grace run out, if I let you down.” “Will you call me child, when I tell you lies.” This song to me seemed to have been written as a song for broken and doubting people. They repeat this thought: Will you do this, if I do this? It’s about messing up, it’s about failure, but more importantly, it’s about our savior. “You are the savior and you take brokenness aside and make it beautiful.” It’s about God’s forgiveness, and it’s about sinners, running away from God, and God making your mistakes beautiful. “Caught up in words, tangled in lies” we as sinners get tangled, ensnared, and trapped. We fall away from God and we sing to him, “I am a sinner, if it’s not one thing it’s another.” We have God to take away our brokenness.

In summary: We are sinners, we are broken, but God is our savior, and he still loves us.

Honorable mentions: Come Ye Sinners and No Longer Slaves. I feel like listening to Brokenness Aside, then Come Ye Sinners, then No Longer Slaves, kind of tells a story. It starts with us being sinners, acknowledging our sin, and repenting. Then in Come Ye Sinners the sinners all arise and go to Jesus, and he willingly accepts us, embracing us as his own. Then finally No Longer Slaves finishes the story saying we are no longer slaves to fear, we are children of God. We repented, went to God, and now we’re God’s children. A nice 3 song story, don’t you think?

~Aaron

