Psalm 29:2 Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name; worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness.
Psalm 8:1 O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! You have set your glory above the heavens.
Psalm 95:6 Oh come, let us worship and bow down; let us kneel before the LORD, our Maker!
Psalm 99:5 Exalt the LORD our God; worship at his footstool! Holy is he!

This week’s topic is worship, which I am very interested/passionate about. But a misconception I had about worship when I was younger, was that worship is just when we sing together as a Church. Obviously it’s much more than that, let me go through what worship is to me.

Worship is described as ascribing worth to God. Let’s go back to those verses in Psalms at the beginning. If you look at each verse, you’ll notice that they say “Let us worship and bow down; let us kneel before the LORD, our maker!” And, “Exalt the LORD our God!” but no where does it specifically say anything about music. Don’t get me wrong, there are verses that mention worship through music (Psalm 66:4, Psalm 150), but the point I’m making is that worship is more than music. It’s not only music, it’s prayer, it’s communion, it’s devoting your time to God, and it’s giving glory to God. Giving God the glory and honor he deserves is worship.

1: Prayer

Prayer is so important in worshipping God. When we pray, we take time out of what we’re doing to talk to God, and we praise him and thank him. But even asking God for help could in some way be considered worship, because admitting that you need God’s help is admitting you aren’t good enough, and you need him. Admitting you need God, ultimately ascribes worth to him in my opinion.

2: Communion

Communion is a very effective way of giving God glory. Taking the bread and the drink in remembrance of him, acknowledges Jesus’ sacrifice for us, and proclaims it. Acknowledging and remembering Jesus’ sacrifice for us on the cross is an act of honoring him. Giving up your sins to be made new by his blood is an act of acceptance of God. Understanding that Jesus is the only one capable of removing sin’s punishment, is giving our hearts to God, which is a form of worship.

3: Music

There are many other ways to honor and glorify and worship God, but I’m going to finish this post with music. It’s more than just a Church thing. If you have a voice, sing at home with the music playing out loud with you. If you know an instrument, practice day and night to use it for God’s glory. I know what you might be saying, “But Aaron, I’m not musically gifted!” Or, “I’m not good at singing, I don’t like the sound of my voice!” But DON’T LET THAT STOP YOU! The key to worship is that God doesn’t care about your talent, he only starts caring when you give him the glory only he is worthy of. I don’t like singing either, but I find myself at Church every Sunday, singing every song. Or at home, playing piano, and singing along to my favorite worship songs by myself. You can still worship God if you’re alone, because it’s just you and God, no audience to impress. Giving glory to God is what we are called to do, so do that in any way possible. Let your voice cry out praises to God, and give him your everything.

~Aaron

 

 

 

 

