We’re human sinners, and we have flaws, but we don’t necessarily have to cover them up, do we?

This is a topic that I think is very essential for a Christian like myself to think about. Because although sometimes I forget, there is a lot to learn from my flaws and imperfections.

Should we always talk about and show our best selves around friends, or should we display our flaws and burdens front and center?

I think the answer is yes. Because when I accepted Christ as the leader of my will and life, I gave him access to my burdens, so he could deal with them and forgive. If we put up a guise around our friends like we’re great people, or tell our friends of only good times, it hides the fact that we are desperate for God, and we are hopeless sinners without him. Sharing burdens with friends is especially helpful around people with no faith, because the difference between Christian sinners, and no faith sinners, is that Christians believe there is someone who removes the troubles, and looks past the flaws.

I look at my life as a story that’s being written as I live out my life, and every new day is a new page. But my story has some not very fun pages, and there are some chapters that were pretty ugly, and there are parts of the story when the main character has doubts, and starts losing self confidence, and things don’t look so good. So when I’m around friends and family, they need the whole story, not just the good parts. When I live out my life, everyone needs to not only see my pain, and my troubles, but they also need to see the remedy, and the restoration. Putting out a polished version of yourself on display, and flaunting all of your greatness, leaves no room for God’s part in your life. I accepted Christ because I was broken, I was desperate for God, I was dead in my trespasses, and I needed him. So no more “Look at me, I’ve got it all under control!”. It’s time for me to say “I am in desperate need of God, he is in complete control of my life, because I can’t make it on my own, I’m imperfect and flawed.”

And that’s the beauty of imperfection. That I’m flawed, and yet an unflawed Jesus came to take my place. There is no reason to hide the flaws I have, because the truth is, the flawless God that I trust in, is in control of my flawed life. No more trying to be anyone else but myself.

~Aaron

 

